NCIS Los Angeles Review: “Driving Miss Diaz”

photo credit: tvequals.com

photo credit: tvequals.com

Here’s my review of NCIS Los Angeles season seven episode “Driving Miss Diaz.” Please note that this isn’t a recap of what happens. I’m assuming that you’ve already seen the episode. There are spoilers in this review.

I’m honestly not sure what to write for this review. “Driving Miss Diaz” wasn’t a bad episode, but it wasn’t very good either. I found myself unable to engage in the storyline or find it very interesting. All in all, it was a typical episode that never deviated from the standard formula.

The biggest problem, I believe, is that there was no b-plot. We didn’t really get anything of substance in terms of characteristics or development, and that made this episode feel very shallow. Compare this with the first two episodes of the season. The premiere focused on Callen and his search for answers. The second episode gave us a little more insight into Callen’s state of mind along with expanding Kensi and Deeks’ relationship storyline. “Driving Miss Diaz,” however, was devoid of that sort of thing and it really hurt the episode. Instead we just have a straightforward investigation focused on a character we don’t really know (and never really get the chance to know either). As such, it doesn’t leave much for the viewers to get invested in. And without interest, why will people continue watching?

Additionally, and this is mostly just on a personal note, I did not remember that Elmsilie guy at all. For some reason, I have a difficult time remembering guest characters when they pop up again. (To be completely honest, I could barely remember Talia last week.) This may be due to the guest characters being very one-dimensional. They don’t leave much of an impression. If these people from this episode show up again, I doubt I’ll remember them too.

But there are some positives to this episode as well. I liked the attempt to incorporate Hetty into the storyline in a capacity other than just pulling the strings from behind her desk with a cup of tea. This was a nice addition to her taser scene from the premiere episode. I hope she’ll have the opportunity to contribute more to the investigations and undercover ops in the future, just so she’ll have something else to do.

Another positive is that we’re three episodes into the season and we’ve yet to use Middle Eastern Muslim terrorists as a plot point. I’m sure they’ll turn up sometime in the season, but it’s nice to have a break too. It also seems like the show is moving further and further away from investigating murders, which is definitely a good thing. Leave that stuff for NCIS and all the other procedurals. This show works much better with the stories that aren’t heavily reliant on dead bodies because these storylines provide more opportunities for character work.

Like I said, it wasn’t a bad episode. It was just one that didn’t hold my attention for very long.

Notes from the Boat Shed

  • Still not much from Eric and Nell but I liked the detail about board game night at Eric’s house.
  • Hetty should take a side-job as a photoshoot director because that was hilarious. (She also looked lovely in her own picture)
  • I was really annoyed by the scene when Sam and Callen have a person discussion while getting the info from the computer. How do they never get caught doing this??
  • “It’s easy to hack into anyone’s email… if you can break into someone’s office” So… what you’re saying is that I should never let anyone into my office? Ever? (paraphrased quote)
  • “She didn’t consent, but I took a sample anyway.” -Granger, rendering half the episode pointless.
  • Who thought it would be a good idea to name this episode “Driving Miss Diaz?”

So what did you think? Like it or hate it? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments.

4 thoughts on “NCIS Los Angeles Review: “Driving Miss Diaz”

  1. I overlooked the lack of dead bodies in this episode, and that we haven’t yet encountered the usual stereotypical NCISLA villian.

    I hate the episode name! I think I enjoyed it more as I had no expectations; the press release was just boring.

    • I hope we can hold off on the stereotypical villains for a while!

      The name just seems so silly! Why reference a movie title that doesn’t have anything to do with the plot?? But anyway, I’m glad you enjoyed it! It just wasn’t my cup of tea this time. ^_^

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  2. Pingback: NCIS Los Angeles Review: “Unspoken” | Notorious Rambler

  3. Pingback: NCIS Los Angeles: “Defectors” | Notorious Rambler

Leave a Comment

