Music Rec Wednesdays: Theme from Defiance

This is a weekly feature called Music Rec Wednesdays. As you can guess from the name, I’m going to make a post recommending a song, album, or artist I like. Not a full review, just some thoughts on what I like. 

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve put together a Music Rec Wednesday, but this week I’m back with the extended theme from Syfy’s Defiance, both a television show and an online RPG video game. It’s got a cool, futuristic-sounding theme so let’s check it out!

To be quite honest, this is probably number four on my list of great currently-airing TV theme songs (you can see my top three here). Or at least, this would be number four if the TV show actually used it. During the first season, there was a short credit sequence which did play this music, and I always turned the volume up on my TV for it. But the second season cut it out in favor of a very brief title card. I don’t play the game so I don’t know how much it’s used there. But fortunately for us, the extended version of the theme exists in all its glory on youtube.

What I really like about this song is the use of dubstep. Sometimes, the addition of dubstep to a song can be annoying and a little pretentious, but this instrumental makes a little go a long ways. It’s not over-the-top or too much. It’s just enough to emphasize the futuristic vibe of the song which is appropriate for a science fiction show set in the future.

I think the dubstep elements mix well with the strings of the song. And actually, the mixing of different sounds together is perfect for Defiance‘s theme song. If you don’t know anything about the show, it’s set a few decades in the future after aliens come to Earth and botch their attempt at terraforming the planet. Now all the different races must learn how to live together in a world that’s both old and new. It’s a fascinating idea, and I like that the theme song subtly perpetuates that idea of blending together.

Overall, whether you watch the show or not, it’s still a nice piece of instrumental music. It starts off slow but continues to build up until it reaches something awesome. Check it out and let me know what you think. Like it or hate it? Have any recommendations for similar songs? What’s your opinion on dubstep? If you have any thoughts, please feel free to leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Music Rec Wednesdays: Theme from Defiance

Leave a Comment

