Music Rec Wednesdays: BUCK-TICK – Kuchizuke

This is a weekly feature called Music Rec Wednesdays. As you can guess from the name, I’m going to make a post recommending a song, album, or artist I like. Not a full review, just some thoughts on what I like. 

buck tick in kuchizuke PV

Today’s pick is the song Kuchizuke by Japanese rock band Buck-Tick. Let’s take a look!

As far as rock bands go, Buck-Tick is one of my favorites. They’re a standard five-man group with a distinct sound they’ve developed over the thirty years they’ve been together. There are so many of their songs to chose from, but I was listening to this one recently and remembered how cool the music video is, so this is the one I’ve picked. Kuchizuke (which translates to “kiss”) was released in September 2010 to be used as the opening theme for the anime Shiki.

Let’s take a look and see what this song’s all about:

We’ll talk about the video itself in a moment, but first let’s talk about the song itself. One of my favorite things about this song is the repetition of the lyrics (or repetition of similar lyrics). It makes it easy to remember and easy to sing along with. The lyrics make up a sort of dark love song and that makes the song more mysterious and interesting. It makes me keep thinking about the meaning of the song long after I’ve stopped listening to it. The opening and ending music along with the strong bass line through the whole song adds to that mysterious tone.

(A translation of the lyrics can be found here)

The music video is one of my favorites. It uses some cool camera tricks to make scenes meld and transition smoothly together. The dark lighting and the sparsely decorated set contribute to the mood of the lyrics. The camera work is really fun to watch. I love the overlapping scenes and how they are different each time. As the camera pans across the dinner table, the group is first seated, then they are standing behind the chairs, and then people disappear as things continue to change. The umbrella on fire is my favorite detail.

buck tick umbrella ON FIRE

To be honest, despite the camera effects, the music video itself is very simplistic. It’s just the lady dancer, the table, and Atsushi singing with or without the band with him. This is fitting since the lyrics themselves are rather simplistic as well. I just love when the tone of a music video matches with song (because all too often that is not the case). The music video tops all this off by ending with the same scene that it starts with. Perfect!

So what did you think? Love it or hate it? Did you like the music video? Have any similar song recommendations? Have any other Buck-Tick song recommendations? Feel free to leave a comment and discuss!

2 thoughts on “Music Rec Wednesdays: BUCK-TICK – Kuchizuke

  1. I agree with EVERYTHING you wrote! I love the simplicity and repetitive nature of the song combined with the simplistic, repetitive nature of the video. It’s simple, but obviously took thought and planning to make it all work so well together. Plus any man who can rock silver nail polish like that has a special place in my heart.
    I think my favorite part, apart from the burning umbrella, is when he just tosses the roses aside. As nitpicky and silly as this may seem, I think that’s a pretty good summation of the video/song as a whole.
    A+++

    • Thanks for reading and commenting! ❤

      Atsushi can rock any color nail polish because he is that awesome. And I totally agree about tossing the roses! (I tried to screencap that part but my computer wouldn't cooperate. OH WELL)

Leave a Comment

