Music Rec Wednesdays: Scandal – Shunkan Sentimental

This is a new feature called Music Rec Wednesdays. As you can guess from the name, I’m going to make a post recommending a song, album, or artist I like. Not a full review, just some thoughts on what I like. I’ll try to post one every Wednesday.

scandal shunkan 2

This week we’ve got the song Shunkan Sentimental by the Japanese band Scandal.

I’m not very familiar with a lot of Scandal’s music but I like everything that I’ve heard so far. I first discovered their music the same way I discover a lot of Japanese music: it was used in an anime. More specifically, I heard Shoujo S, which was the opening theme for Bleach for a while. The song got stuck in my head for weeks and looked up a few more of the band’s songs, but somehow I missed their other famous anime theme song: Shunkan Sentimental from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. It wasn’t until I actually started watching the series a few years later that I heard the song. And now I’ve come to love it as my favorite Scandal song.

Let’s take a listen:

Just like Shoujo S, this song will get stuck in my head for weeks at a time, and I’ll just be wandering around my house all the time humming it. The main guitar riff and chorus are so catchy! In the chorus particularly I like the first half of the second line (ひとつだけ確かな)(hitotsu dake tashika na) because the notes progress up and down like a music scale. The same melody is repeated near the end of the chorus as well. I don’t know exactly how to explain it; it’s just fun to sing!

As for the rest of the song, I really love that the main singer does not sing with a high-pitched voice like so many other female Japanese singers do. The high-pitched cutesy singing isn’t a bad thing, but not having that makes these vocals stand out more as a more distinctive sound. I also like that the song, especially in the second verse, gives lines to the guitarist and the bassist to sing too. And they both have their own particular singing sound. I feel like I never find enough rock bands who have more than one singer in the group.

The music video is rather simplistic. It’s just the group playing together in what looks like an empty warehouse or parking garage or something. But I like simplicity because this group is so fun to watch. They have choreographed dance moves while they’re playing their instruments for goodness sake! It’s both adorable and awesome. And it felt like the whole group got a lot of individual screen time too. I still don’t know their names but I know their faces and voices now from watching this video. (Also, on a side note: I love their outfits and wish I had one for myself)

The reason I’m recommending this song is because it’s lighthearted and fun and makes you want to jump up and dance to it along with the band. I don’t often easily find Japanese female rock bands, so this one is definitely one to follow. Scandal is a pretty cool group to check out. (Here’s a wikipedia link to get you started!)

So what did you think? Like it or hate it? Have any Scandal song recs of your own? Know any similar songs or bands? Feel free to chat about it in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Music Rec Wednesdays: Scandal – Shunkan Sentimental

  1. I LOVE THIS SONG!
    Seriously, though, totally with you on their atypical (for a Japanese girl group) vibe–it’s one of the things I love best about them.
    I also think that the video kinda makes them look ‘indie’. I think they’re signed onto a major label, but are still trying to go for that ‘We’re high school students and can’t afford expensive videos!’ thing. IDK.

    YAY SCANDAL!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    PS–You should check out that all-girl death metal group that debuted in Japan recently. The members are all like 13, 14 yrs old, and I think the group name is “Babymetal”(?)
    Disclaimer: I’ve never actually heard any of their songs.

    Happy music-ing!♪

    • If I remember correctly from my research, this was like the fourth or fifth single after they went major, so it’s still got that lovely indie vibe. I looked up some of their more recent stuff and their sound and look was a bit more mainstream. Oh well. They still rock either way.

      😀

      Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve heard of Babymetal but haven’t yet checked out their music. I shall do that~!

      Thanks for reading and commenting, friend! ^_^

Leave a Comment

