Suikyuu Yankees Wrap Up Post: The Mizu Tama Awards

"This is an A+ show about water polo"

“This is an A+ show about water polo”

So since I absolutely love this show and don’t want to let it go, I’ve got one last SuiYan post for you all. It’s a fun little thing I like to call the Mizu Tama awards!

Alright, I’ll be honest. It’s just an excuse for me to share some of the screencaps I didn’t get to use in my recaps. Feel free to join me in the fun!

The first award is for Best Facial Expression, and of course, it goes to the Baka Trio. They gave it their all every week and provided us with some excellent faces for all situations.

The faces of enthusiasm

The faces of enthusiasm

"Please don't interrupt Arts and Crafts time"

“Please don’t interrupt Arts and Crafts time”

SHOCK AND AWE

SHOCK AND AWE

Runner up in this category goes to Naoya. It was a really close race.

"I think I left the oven on at home"

“I think I left the oven on at home”

And because I’m a big fan of Takaki Yuya, an honorable mention goes to Torao:

"HUH?? Only honorable mention??"

“HUH?? Only honorable mention??”

The award for Best Hat goes to Chiharu for this amazing gem from Episode 8:

"I stole this hat from a truck driver at a gas station"

“I stole this hat from a truck driver at a gas station”

Most Ridiculous Parents goes to Nagisa’s parents, not just because they are the only parents on the show, but also because they seriously are ridiculous(ly adorable).

This is not the proper way to give a massage. Please don't try this at home.

This is not the proper way to give a massage. Please don’t try this at home.

The award for Weirdest Hiding Spot goes to Nagisa:

"Maybe no one will look over here at all of Suiran's awards"

“Maybe no one will look over here at all of Suiran’s awards”

Next up is Best Flashback Casting and that award goes to the little girl who played Young!Nagisa.

"I'm adorable. Deal with it."

“I’m adorable. Deal with it.”

Bonus points because she’s taller than the kid who played Baby!Naoya.

The irony

The irony

The next award, Best Chiaki and Kouki Moment, is a tie between…

Chiaki and Kouki meditating like monks during the final game

Chiaki and Kouki meditating like monks during the final game

and…

"Look y'all, we are standing next to GIRLS"

“Look y’all, we are standing next to GIRLS”

The Best Extra award goes to this poor, traumatized-looking guy from episode 6:

"Please don't take my lunch money"

“Please don’t take my lunch money”

Best Character Who Surprisingly Had Lines is Restaurant Guy because I was super surprised during that episode when he gave an inspirational talk to one of the Baka Trio. (I think they are brothers?)

"Better listen up, bro. I only get to talk once."

“Better listen up, bro. I only get to talk once.”

Runner up in this category is this teacher dude who’s always in the background:

"This is my only line. LET ME SHOUT IT."

“This is my only line. LET ME SHOUT IT.”

Strangest Fan-service Moment comes from Episode 8. This is for all you Kouki fans out there.

"Um, Kouki? Everyone can see your butt."

“Um, Kouki? Everyone can see your butt.”

The award for Strangest Hug goes to Mr. Miyagi and Naoya:

"Let's just hug it out"

“Let’s just hug it out”

Best Team Moment is really no contest. It’s definitely this cute moment from Episode 8:

*lullaby music plays in background*

*lullaby music plays in background*

The award for Most Adorable Couple After They Worked Out Their Problems goes to Torao and Rei. Just because I like Torao and Rei. And I know I’m not the only one ;D

"Wow. It's so much easier to have a conversation when we walk side by side"

“Wow. It’s so much easier to have a conversation when we walk side by side”

The Moment That Made Me Want To Make A Yu-Gi-Oh Joke is when Nagisa writes “teppen” on Naoya’s hand in the final episode. Because that moment reminded me of a ridiculous part from Yu-Gi-Oh (yes, I used to watch that back in the day) where Téa draws a huge smiley face on her friends’ hands to encourage Yugi to win. Or something. (No, it doesn’t make much more sense in context)

"Let me scribble on you for a bit"

“Let me scribble on you for a bit”

OBVIOUSLY TRUE FRIENDSHIP Y'ALL. (photo credit: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Smiley_face)

OBVIOUSLY TRUE FRIENDSHIP Y’ALL.
(photo credit: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Smiley_face)

Moving right along, the award for Too Tall To Be Entirely In Frame goes to Nakajima Yuto, of course. He’s really tall.

"I hope they don't cut my head off in this shot"

“I hope they don’t cut my head off in this shot”

"Hopefully, they won't cut off my head twice. Right guys? Right?"

“Hopefully, they won’t cut off my head twice. Right guys? Right?”

And our last award is Best Walking Away in Slow Motion Shot. Who else could receive this award but our lovely Mizu Tama team? They’re great.

"Walk slower guys. We don't have a slo-mo camera."

“Walk slower guys. We don’t have a slo-mo camera.”

So that’s all I’ve got! Do you have any awards you want to give the show/characters/cast? Do you agree or disagree with mine? Want to just keep talking about Suikyuu Yankees? This is the place to do it! It’s been fun, y’all! Come back and chat anytime!

So finally I’ll just leave you with some corn. Never forget that time corn was a metaphor for friendship or something.

"The prop department had all this extra corn so they kept writing it into the script. Uh, I mean... friends are great."

“The prop department had all this extra corn so they kept writing it into the script. Uh, I mean… friends are great.”

2 thoughts on “Suikyuu Yankees Wrap Up Post: The Mizu Tama Awards

  1. huaaaaaa, this is so fun! I can’t stop laughing and I dunno what to say anymore
    you’re awesome x))))))))
    Agreeee! absolutely agreee with everything
    my favorite is the best extra, hahaha

    –> Best Character Who Surprisingly Had Lines is Restaurant Guy because I was super surprised during that episode when he gave an inspirational talk to one of the Baka Trio. (I think they are brothers?)

    yes, they are brothers 🙂

    ah this drama is really fun..
    I hope it’ll back as 2nd season, SP,movie or whatsover

    • Thanks! *blushes* I’m glad this made you laugh!

      Ah, they are brothers! Thanks for clearing that up! I couldn’t quite remember.

      I’ll miss this show too! It was excellent! I don’t know if they’ll make another season or special or anything, but I’ll definitely blog about it if they do! 🙂

Leave a Comment

