Suikyuu Yankees Episode 8 Recap/Review: CAMP SHENANIGANS

suiyan 8 kasukou shocked faces

So here we are folks! It’s time for a field trip! The KasuKou gang finally get to go to their training camp. Spoiler alert: there is no corn. But instead, we get camp shenanigans, sorta love confessions, wood chopping, and even some, dare I say it, character development! Let’s talk about it!

And we’re off to training camp! Everyone is appropriately excited! (Although I’m disappointed they are not singing songs together on the bus. That’s like the best part of any field trip)

"Ninety-nine bottles of beer on the wall, ninety-nine bottles of beer~"

“Ninety-nine bottles of beer on the wall, ninety-nine bottles of beer~”

Oh and by the way, Suiran is going to this camp too.

Please note everyone is looking out the window at Suiran except for Chiaki.

Please note everyone is looking out the window at Suiran except for Chiaki.

Also, looks like there’s something wrong with Torao’s shoulder… hmm…

"Maybe no one will notice me grab my shoulder in pain"

“Maybe no one will notice me grab my shoulder in pain”

Over at the school, Nice Principal and Mean VP talk briefly about the fact that the water polo team is gone right now. I think even Mean VP missed those guys a little.

"Are you jealous you didn't get to go to the beach?"

“Are you jealous you didn’t get to go to the beach?”

Anyway, the KasuKou team is all fired up about training camp.

"This is our happy face"

“This is our happy face”

Of course, they can’t jump in the pool right away because Suiran is using it for practice. So they meet this guy:

"Somehow I'll make a man out of you"  *song from Mulan continues to play*

“Somehow I’ll make a man out of you”
*looks skeptical*

I missed his name so I’m just gonna call him Mr. Miyagi (like from the Karate Kid) because he makes them do some cleaning. (Wax on? Wax off?)

"Hey where do all these cars come from anyway?" "Detroit"

“Hey where do all these cars come from anyway?”
“Detroit”

Over at Suiran’s practice, Torao lectures his teammates for having fun and actually yells at them. Somebody must have put a bee in his bonnet. Or in his speedo perhaps?

"Hey. You over there. No laughing. Water polo is serious business."

“Hey. You over there. No laughing. Water polo is serious business.”

After all the cleaning is done, the KasuKou boys are just hanging out. It’s kinda weird:

This is pretty accurate camp experience from what I remember. Everybody all up in your personal space.

This is pretty accurate camp experience from what I remember. Everybody all up in your personal space. 

I don't even know anymore, y'all

What IS this? I don’t even know anymore, y’all.

And then Chiaki has a weird daydream about Chiharu-sensei in the bath.

"If this were real life, someone would get arrested"

“If this were real life, someone would get arrested”

Teenage boys are teenage boys. I mean, the next scene is them trying to break into the bath to see Chiharu.

"I can't breath with this thing on my head!"

“I can’t breathe with this thing on my head!”

Spoiler alert: it doesn’t work.

"Surprise! IT'S ME!"

“Surprise! IT’S ME!”

Meanwhile, Ryuji’s doing his own training at the beach. And Torao’s girlfriend, Rei, happens to be wandering along the beach at the same time.

"Fancy meeting you here"

“Fancy meeting you here”

She talks about how she thought Ryuji playing water polo would help Torao change, but Ryuji just says he’s not the one who can change Torao. It’s Rei. (Or something like that)

As for Nagisa, she happens to find Torao angry!practicing by himself.

ANGRY PRACTICE.

ANGRY PRACTICE.

"Perhaps I should have stretched before practice..."

“Perhaps I should have stretched before practice…”

She asks if something’s wrong but he says it’s nothing.

"There is obviously nothing wrong with me. I just like my shoulder very very much."

“There is obviously nothing wrong with me. I just like touching my shoulder very very much.”

So she takes the opportunity to thank him for holding her back when she wanted to beat up Asshole Goda. He shrugs it off like it wasn’t really a big deal. (I mean, he metaphorically shrugs. He can’t actually shrug because of, you know, his hurt shoulder)

While all this is happening, Naoya is getting a little restless about not being able to practice yet.

"I'm gonna call you Wilson and we will be best friend forever."

“I’m gonna call you Wilson and we will be best friends forever.”

Also he’s having conversations with his water polo ball which is slightly concerning. I bet the ball’s name is Wilson. Oh, and then he accidentally breaks a nice vase. Bad Wilson. Bad.

"WILSON NOOOOO"

“WILSON NOOOOO”

So the next day, KasuKou finally gets to go practice. (FINALLY) But they run into Suiran before they get there. Ryuji and Coach Lady have a hilarious staredown.

"I will crush your soul"

“I will crush your soul”

And then Ryuji looks away and Torao is staring at him too. OF COURSE.

"My hair is perfect. You must be jealous."

“My hair is perfect. You must be jealous.”

(On a side note, they didn’t just finish practice did they? Because Torao’s hair is perfectly styled right now) So the Suiran team leaves without saying much. Suiran Girl ignores Chiaki. And Ryuji tells Nagisa thanks for the notebook of notes she gave them earlier. And she makes an adorable “yay!” afterwards. She’s the cutest.

"Yay!"

“Yay!”

But before KasuKou can actually start practice Mr. Miyagi walks in with a note someone mysteriously left on his broken vase.

"This is not money to replace my vase."

“This is not money to replace my vase.”

Naoya apologizes and Mr. Miyagi starts awkwardly checking out his muscles. And he slaps his butt. It’s all very weird. But the boys’ reactions are hilarious. And then Mr. Miyagi takes Naoya away.

"Isn't this sexual harassment or something?"

“Isn’t this sexual harassment or something?”

Over at the Suiran hotel, Nagisa tells Rei that Torao’s got something wrong with his shoulder. Rei says “thank you for telling me.” It’s a really nice moment between the two of them and I wish there were more scenes of them together.

Back with Naoya, Mr. Miyagi has him chopping wood. LOL.

"Why do you need all this wood? It's summer!"

“Why do you need all this wood in the middle of summer?”

For realz tho, I have chopped wood before and it is not fun. I feel for you, Naoya. I feel for you. Please don’t chop your leg off. And please don’t become a lumberjack. It’s actually quite a dangerous profession.

Next up, Baka Trio guy who likes Nagisa overhears Nagisa and her friend talking. (Nagisa’s friend is named Riko! I know this now!) Riko wants Nagisa to confess her feelings to Ryuji.

*Conveniently eavesdropping*

*Conveniently eavesdropping*

While Naoya’s still stuck chopping wood, the rest of the team practices. Riko leaves a note on Ryuji’s bag.

"I am the sneakiest. Ok BYE"

“I am the sneakiest. OK BYE”

It says to meet Nagisa at the temple entrance at 6 o’clock. Baka Trio guy intercepts it and keeps it from Ryuji. That’s not very nice. Understandable sure. But still not very nice.

"There's nothing behind my back. What do think this is? A magic trick?"

” Of course there’s nothing behind my back. What do think this is? A magic trick?”

Meanwhile, Rei tries to get Torao to take care of his shoulder but he doesn’t listen. It’s a pride thing really. He says he doesn’t want to lose.

"Hey maybe you can, I don't know, stop being so angsty?"

“Hey maybe you can, I don’t know, stop being so angsty?”

*aaaaaaangst*

*aaaaaaangstily walks down hallway*

But speaking of other love triangles, Nagisa is waiting nervously by the temple. And Baka Trio guy finally gives the note to Ryuji. Yay! I’m glad he decided not to be a jerk about it and keep secrets. He tells Ryuji to go quickly. Finally, Ryuji runs off and the rest of the Baka Trio come to comfort their friend. Besties for life, y’all.

#besties4lyfe

#besties4lyfe

But as Ryuji is running his hardest to make it to Nagisa before she gives up and goes home (he’s already half an hour late), Rei shows up and says “come with me.” No, Rei. No! Your timing is horrible!

"I'm ignoring the fact that you seem to be in a hurry to get somewhere"

“I’m ignoring the fact that you seem to be in a hurry to get somewhere”

It’s now 8pm and no sign of Ryuji. I applaud Nagisa for her patience though. I would have left around 6:15.

So it turns out, Rei came to get Ryuji because Torao is now in the hospital.

All that teenage angst put him in the hospital?!

All that teenage angst put him in the hospital?!

(Sorry I couldn’t quite figure out why though. I am clueless when it comes to medical terms in Japanese. Do you need an IV drip for a busted shoulder?) Anyway, Ryuji has just been chilling in his room for a while, just waiting for him to wake up.

"Now I'm watching you. Oh how the tables have turned..."

“Now I’m watching you. Oh how the tables have turned…”

They have a moment or something and Ryuji basically reminds Torao that Rei cares about him. Like it basically amounted to “stop being a big dummy, Torao” but in a friendly way. I liked it. Let them be bros again.

So after that, Ryuji finally runs to the temple, but of course, Nagisa isn’t there.

Riko can’t find Nagisa or get in touch with her so she goes to Naoya for help. “She’s probably upset,” Riko says, so Naoya runs off to help search.

"People are ruining my carefully laid out matchmaking plans!"

“People are ruining my carefully laid out matchmaking plans!”

They meet up with Ryuji too and they all separate to search, when Naoya remembers what Nagisa used to do when they were little kids. (Remember that they were childhood friends before he moved away?) Turns out, she used to go to the beach when she was sad. So Naoya found her. And he tries to cheer her up. I have to say, I really liked Yuto’s acting here. I like how Naoya always pretends to be stupidly happy even if he’s secretly worried about someone.

Anyway, since the episode is almost over, Mr. Miyagi finally lets Naoya join practice the next day.

"For the love of all things good, please don't make me chop wood again!"

“For the love of all things good, please don’t make me chop wood again!”

And his skills have improved! Turns out that chopping wood is good for you and your water polo skills! (Thank you Mr. Miyagi) Oh and by the way, Mr. Miyagi is apparently something like the best water polo player in Japan. EEEEHHHHH??

That night everyone is hanging out, just as bros do. Lighting fireworks and stuff.

"Be careful not to burn your eyebrows off"

“Be careful not to burn your eyebrows off”

Also Suiran Girl says hi to Chiaki and he says “OH MY GOD” in English. LOL

And then, of course, Torao and Rei have their scene together because they need to talk things out.

"Let's talk quick. The wind is ruining our hair"

“Let’s talk quick. The wind is ruining our hair”

Rei says she didn’t understand Torao at all but “the one that I like is Torao.” And Torao says “Sorry Rei. I was the one who didn’t understand anything.”  And he said he’s sorry to make her worry about him. AND HE SMILES. WHAAAAAT.

"Let me take you on a magic carpet ride"

“Let me take you on a magic carpet ride”

 

"Take my hand, girl. It's getting cold. Also, I'm not sure how long I can keep making this face"

“Take my hand, girl. It’s getting cold. Also, I’m not sure how long I can keep making this face”

And then they hold hands and walk off together into the night.

Adorable. Actually adorable.

Adorable. Actually adorable.

Meanwhile, Naoya takes Nagisa to the temple entrance because he has hilariously misunderstood what it’s for.

Shouldn't Nagisa have figured out where they were going long before they got there?

Shouldn’t Nagisa have figured out where they were going long before they got there?

You’re suppose to walk through with someone you like (or something along those lines) but Naoya just thinks walking through it will give you more energy and he thinks Nagisa needs more energy after being sad. So he drags her through. She calls him an idiot like usual and they’re pretty cute because Oblivious Naoya just doesn’t understand.

The episode ends with the KasuKou team on the bus on the way home. But Naoya happens to see someone outside the window. He stops the bus and jumps off. It turns out to be Blond!Yoko who saved Baby!Naoya and influenced basically his entire life. Unfortunately (or fortunately?) he’s not blond anymore. What’s gonna happen in the next episode?

"Who's that crazy blond kid calling my name?"

“Who’s that crazy blond kid calling my name?”

So I think this is definitely my favorite episode so far. Which is surprising considering that only a few episodes ago, I really wasn’t even that invested in the romance storylines. I mean, do you guys remember my recap for episode 2 where I used this picture:

What a happy couple. I give them until episode five.

What a happy couple. I give them until episode five.

I mean, I seriously thought we were heading for a breakup with the way their characters acted. But this episode gave us nice and mature conflict resolution. They talked it out and realized all their problems were really just a misunderstanding. That’s so refreshing. There are lots of TV show conflicts that can easily be solved if the characters would just TALK TO EACH OTHER. Anyway, I’m just really happy about how this all turned out. It was really nice character development for both of them. When I first started watching this show I didn’t expect we would ever get an episode that focused on the Suiran team because they’re the rivals, not the main characters. (I even said this in my recap of episode 3) Once again, this show has taken my expectations and thrown them out a window. Goodbye expectations! Please don’t come back! *waves happily*

Another thing I really liked about this episode was the humor. Camp shenanigans are so much fun! Like I’ve said before, it’s just really nice to see the KasuKou team hanging out and being best friends. And I love all the hard work these actors are putting into their performances. Half of their humor comes from the ridiculous faces they are making in the background of all the scenes. Or the strange things they are doing in the background. Did anyone else notice that Chiaki had his hand over his crotch pretty much the whole time they were trying to sneak a peek at the bath? It’s a juvenile joke really but Mamiya Shotaro really sells it.

All in all, this episode was great. I’ll even forgive them for the lack of corn this time.

Questions!

1.) Do you think Blond!Yoko misses his blond hair?

2.) Did the power of love magically heal Torao’s shoulder?

3.) Are we all still secretly shipping Torao/Ryuji tho?

4.) What would you name your imaginary companion who is, in fact, a water polo ball?

5.) Got any fun camp experiences to share with the class? (I’ll tell you my camp experience involves breaking a table, mattress surfing, and stealing some rocking chairs. It was church camp, not gonna lie.)

6.) Did you miss the corn? Be honest.

As always, feel free to leave a comment! I love chatting. Only two more episodes left. Prepare yourselves! I’ll be back with another recap next week. Until then, practice your water polo skills. Go chop some wood!

12 thoughts on “Suikyuu Yankees Episode 8 Recap/Review: CAMP SHENANIGANS

  1. HI. I’M HERE. THIS EPISODE BROKE ME. Excuse me while I comment on everything. xD ❤

    First of all that first screencap made me snort. Their faces. LOL. Especially Yuto's. Also Kouki's watergun and Baka Trio #2 (Kouhei?)'s duck float thing. #campshenanigans

    WHY DID THEY HAVE TO WASH CARS IN THEIR SPEEDOS still can't get over HAHAHA. Also roflll thumbs up for Mulan and Karate Kid.

    BEE IN HIS SPEEDO OMG

    I love the camp scenes so much ahahahaha. All the crazy antics the guys are doing. And on the bus too – I vividly remember one scene of Chiba Yudai (and presumably the rest of the Baka Trio guys) making these ridiculous faces in the background, so great.

    Did you laugh as hard as I did when Rei popped up from the tall grass like a Pokemon. Twice. Well okay the second time I screamed at her to go away because wow that girl has bad timing.

    ANGRY PRACTICE. THE ANGRIER YOU PRACTICE, THE BETTER YOU'LL GET AT WATER POLO. Good information to know, thanks Torao!
    I squealed a bit when Nagisa thanked him;; (LOOK OUR WISH OF NAGISA/TORAO BROSHIP COMING TRUE)

    WILSON. AHAHAHAHA. Good one.
    And then that note he left instead, along with the lucky cat. OH NAOYA, NEVER CHANGE.

    That moment between ReixNagisa was so sweet!!! *_____* I actually didn't think we'd get one, but again the show surprised me. (Now I want more. Writers, give us more. Please?)

    That "yay!" was TOTALLy cute. Oh yeah I think this is a good time to say that throughout this entire episode I flip-flopped between Nagisa/Ryuji and Nagisa/Naoya SO MANY TIMES. WRITERS. MY HEART CANNOT TAKE THIS. I DON'T KNOW HOW I SURVIVED. IT HURT. sdfgahk just. ugh sdjflhakj everyone is so cute and so shippable and I just wanna squish them all.

    Why did I laugh so much that Riko's singlet says "Mars". Also awww Tomoki. (?!?!?!? DID I DO IT. DID I REMEMBER THEIR NAMES. Though I think there's still one Baka Trio Guy I can't name.)

    *aaaaaaangstily walks down hallway*
    /chokes
    DON’T IGNORE THE GIRL WHO LIKES YOU, TORAO.

    AWWWWWWW TOMOKI.

    I screamed at Rei so much omg. like. I love you girl (I LOVE YOU SO MUCH I’VE WRITTEN TWO FICS WITH YOU ALREADY), BUT YOU HAVE BAD TIMING.

    I would have left around 6:15.
    I cracked up because same.

    All that teenage angst put him in the hospital?! and “Now I’m watching you. Oh how the tables have turned…”
    I love your recaps so much.
    I didn’t understand why he was there, either. D: But I like this teenage angst theory. Let’s go with that.

    That scene at the beaaaaaaach. jkdsgkfhasdklgdjkhf That was adorable. I loved Yuto’s expressions so much as well. Inaba Naoya. ;_; The way he flip flopped between showing his true concern for Nagisa, and then pretending to be all happy, hoping that it would cheer her up, too. <333

    SUIRAN GIRL X CHIAKI. CUTE. Also Kouki's reaction in the background ahahahahah.

    SCREAMS. THE REI AND TORAO SCENE. UGH. I'M SO HAPPY. I'M SORRY I'M SCREAMING AT YOU. BUT I'M SO HAPPY. Lol though, these two. /shakes vigorously/ Reiiiiiiiiiiiiiii. Toraoooooooooooo.
    Well at least they finally talked. i've been screaming at them to communicate for the last five episodes. /pets them both/ Now shoo, go on your magic carpet ride. (Laughed so hard;;)
    THE HAND HOLD. ❤ ADORABLE. PLEASE LET THERE BE MORE. (I'm getting greedy now. BUT REALLY.)

    Ohhhhhh, Naoya. That scene was totally cute though. Poor Riko at the end, there. D:

    Also the previews with Yoko;;;;; Naoya's going to have his existential crisis in the next episode oh goodness. I'm not prepared. (ALSO CHIHARU BACKSTORY ALERT HELLO)

    Your screencap+caption of ReixTorao in the second ep HAHAHAHAHAHA. I also thought they were heading for trouble, too, back then.

    Yes, the humour was so great! I didn't notice what Chiki was doing in that scene because I was laughing too hard at their towels, but LOL.

    1.) Do you think Blond!Yoko misses his blond hair? Yes. After Naoya has had his existential crisis I want Blond!Yoko to realise that "oh hey I actually reaaaaally dig the blond hair, and I miss it." *Dyes blond again*

    2.) Did the power of love magically heal Torao’s shoulder? YUP.

    3.) Are we all still secretly shipping Torao/Ryuji tho? YUP.

    4.) What would you name your imaginary companion who is, in fact, a water polo ball? Nagisa.

    5.) Got any fun camp experiences to share with the class? Wow your camp experience sounds INTENSE. Um. Once the girls in our dorm stayed up until midnight talking, and then the fire alarm ran out of battery and started beeping rather sinisterly. We didn't know it was the fire alarm, so the 6 of us in the dorm were so scared + thought it was someone crazy outside. After about half an hour of clinging to each other we rang someone in another dorm (the guys in the nearest dorm were up playing cards. Typical guys. But glad in our case LOL). Some girls left to go there so in the end we all followed like sheep. When we came back a few minutes later we looked up and saw the fire alarm flashing.

    6.) Did you miss the corn? Be honest. Very much so. I expect more corn in the next to episodes to make up for the disappointing lack of corn in this one. (But it was an amazing episode, so I also forgive it. xD)

    • HI!! YEP EPISODE 8 RIPPED ME INTO TINY PIECES. (and then scattered them to the wind lol) I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND. (P.S. I love that you leave me novel-length comments. Thank you so much! They make me the HAPPIEST)

      #campshenanigans are the greatest! I love that they brought random pool toys like inflatable animals (I could have sworn there was an inflatable alligator on the bus). Like, aren’t you guys going to water polo training camp??

      I was worried the Mulan joke wouldn’t be obvious without music to go with it. I’m glad you got it!

      BAKA TRIO FACES. They really are the best! I love how half of their acting is just them making ridiculous faces in the background of ALL THE SCENES.

      REI AS A POKEMON OH MY GOSH. New headcanon! XP I just kept thinking “this whole wide beach and you just happen to always run into Ryuji??”

      I know right?? This episode went above and beyond really. Nagisa and Torao would be the bro-iest of bros. (Pfft. Sorry. I can’t say that with a straight face.)

      Oh I forgot to mention the Lucky Cat replacement in the recap! But yes, gosh, that was so totally Naoya!

      The writers for this show are just full of surprises all around! 😀

      UGH. I know! I am still super conflicted about all the shipping (minus Torao/Rei now because yay!). I’m thinking the answer to all our problems is one giant open relationship… *cough* Um, what? Did I say that out loud? /runs

      “MARS” made me laugh too! Oh, half the fun of jdramas is reading everybody’s shirts, yeah? And yay for finally knowing 2/3rds of the Baka Trio’s names! I… still have no idea what the other’s name is.

      I loved everything about Torao in this episode. He was serving up 5th-Year-Harry-Potter-Angst realness.

      REI AND HER POOR TIMING UGGGGHHHH. lol I kept thinking the whole time “doesn’t anybody have cellphones?? Could straighten out a lot of things”

      Teen Angst: Know the dangers. Know the risks. Don’t end up like that guy. *points to Torao*
      (idk I think I just made a PSA or something?)

      Yuto KILLED that beach scene. I loved that bit at the beginning when he had to take a moment to gain his composure before he tried to cheer her up. *_*

      KOUKI’S REACTION YESSSS. Kouki and Nice Principal are the secret heroes of this show.

      I’M SCREAMING ABOUT REI AND TORAO TOO. I loved it. LOVED IT. You are captaining this ship and I’m here rowing the boat BECAUSE THEY ARE ADORBS. I’m so happy our fears weren’t realized and the two of them worked things out. *applauds writers* GIVE US MORE, WRITERS. MOOOOOOREEEEE
      (lol I don’t even know what I was thinking with the magic carpet ride joke. When I saved the screencap, I titled it “I caaaaaan shoooooow youuuuuuu the world” orz)

      Poor Riko! D: (But LOL at her creeping because OF COURSE)

      So excited for the next episode! I love existential crises! LOL (I can’t believe the writers are giving us Chiharu backstory too!! O.O )

      I’m a big fan of physical/visual humor and this show does it WELL.

      1.) Yes, Yoko, listen to that inner voice. /hands him hair dye/
      4.) Nagisa is a good choice! LOL. (I think I would pick Larry because… idk, it just seems like a good name)
      5.) (To be completely honest, I was not the one who broke the table. I just witnessed the guy trying to ride it down the stairs. The front two legs snapped off when he hit the bottom. We put it back together and just yelled “DON’T TOUCH THE TABLE” for the rest of the week. Coincidentally, we stayed in the same cabin the next year and THE TABLE WAS STILL BROKEN. LOL)
      Also, your story is the CUTEST. ^_^ Aww huddling together! Mysterious beeping noises are legit scary!
      6.) I too believe the corn will be back! 😀

      • UGH. EPISODE 8. WE KNEW THIS WOULD HAPPEN BUT STILL. urhgjsdhkjfsd (lol nooooo /runs after the pieces. come baaaack)
        (I’m so glad you’re enjoying the comments HAHAHA sometimes I fear I scare people away)

        INFLATABLE ALLIGATOR? LOL. I’m not surprised – will have to go back and look for it. IKR. That bus was so messy for a group of 8 people going there to do some water polo training HAHAHA.

        xDDDDDDD I live for Mulan jokes.

        YESSSSSS. THEY’RE SO GOOD. They really shone in this episode I think. Like they were good in other episodes but this one was like one big montage of silly Baka Trio faces. It was brilliant.

        HAHAHA I COULDN’T HELP IT she just popped up SO randomly.
        this whole wide beach and you just happen to always run into Ryuji??”
        EXACTLy. She must have a Ryuji radar or something. No wait, Torao could have a Ryuji radar. That’s why he always has time to prepare the death glare he reserves specifically for Ryuji. What am I saying omg.

        BRO-IEST OF BROS. Yes indeed. (Totally acceptable. Neither can I.)

        That was hilarious omg where did he even get it. Did he steal borrow it again. (I really love your “Naoya is a kleptomania” theory, I’m sticking with it 100% from now on.)

        I’m thinking the answer to all our problems is one giant open relationship…
        ROFLLLLLL. I LAUGHED REALLY HARD IN THE LIBRARY WHEN I READ THIS.
        but yes. YES. I agree. this is the only solution. there is no other. YUP.

        So true! It was really cute seeing their outfits when they were out of school hahahahaha.
        Oh man neither do I. >.> <.< Sorry, Baka Trio Guy #3.

        He was serving up 5th-Year-Harry-Potter-Angst realness.
        LOL. YES. and then he smiles and I had to blink a few times and replay the scene. xD
        I still wonder what happened to his shoulder, lol. At first I thought he hurt it when he held Nagisa back, and that she had like fought back at him or something hahahaha. #bros

        CELLPHONES. SAME. /SAME/. I JUST. sdfjlahsjkdhbjsdfjhbksjh JDRAMAS, LOL.

        I can’t stop cracking up and now I’m imagining it as a big campaign stuck up in the underground stations, with Torao’s best smoulder as the main backdrop.

        I loved that bit at the beginning when he had to take a moment to gain his composure before he tried to cheer her up.
        YESssssss. I rewatched that scene again yesterday and ugdjfhlkjsdafn Yuto. /pets his face

        Kouki and Nice Principal are the secret heroes of this show.
        YUP.

        You are captaining this ship and I’m here rowing the boat BECAUSE THEY ARE ADORBS.
        YOU MADE ME SO HAPPY OMGkjdhslfkjakjgahsdjffjhlkjsdhfkjas
        SAME. like they really could have gone through the whole “rei breaks up with torao because the one she really wants is Ryuji but Ryuji likes Nagisa so Rei and Torao both end up unhappy and hurt and insanely jealous until they go to college and learn to ~Let it Go~” but it didn’tttt. So happy. THANKS WRITERS. I like that they kept us on our toes until the very last minute (okay I hated it for my heart, but it was good in terms of the writing). Now the next question is WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN WITH NAGISA.
        (ROFL it’s brilliant. Never stop.)

        IKR. like just hiding behind a tree casually. i wonder what she thought of Naoya misunderstanding the entire situation with the shrine.

        ROFL. I HOPE YOU GET YOUR FILL OF EXISTENTIAL CRISES IN THE NEXT EPISODE XD. Ryuji’s due to have another one, too isn’t he? (SAME I can’t waiiiiiiit and in the previews my queen Oomasa Aya finally looks her age xDDDDD)

        1. xDDDDD We can get the rest of kanjani to hold him down if he doesn’t co-operate
        4. Ooooh Larry is a good name! I like Larry.
        5. STILL BROKEN OMG LOL. What did he think riding down a flight of stairs on a table would do though. Hahahahaha oh wonderful camp shenanigans. A camp is not complete without them.
        LOL yeah the next morning everyone on the camp found out and even the teachers were laughing at us. >______> Good times. xD
        6. COOOOORN

        • (Oh yes, your comments make my day!! Not scaring me away at all! 😀 I’m only sad that my weird work schedule keeps me from replying as soon as I want to)

          It was that big green thing Chiaki was leaning on in the bus. My mind just automatically assumed it was an alligator but I’m not entirely sure. Whatever it was, it was HUGE.

          Mulan is my favorite!

          Ryuji Radar OMG. YESSSSS. Now I’m just imagining Torao trailing off in mid-sentence and saying “My Ryuji senses are tingling” *prepares death glare*

          Even though I can actually imagine Naoya just randomly carrying a Lucky Cat around, let’s be real, he probably stole borrowed that too! (Yessss the kleptomania is basically canon)

          The ONLY solution!! *cheesy thumbs up*

          and then he smiles and I had to blink a few times and replay the scene
          SAME. I was like “look at you, Torao, with emotions and all that!!”
          #bros YES. Whoops, that would have been awkward if Nagisa was responsible for the hurt shoulder! I just thought it was from all the ANGRY PRACTICE. lol (I’m gonna try to force my friend to watch the hospital scene sometime so she can explain what it was all about. Her Japanese is much better than mine!)

          I mean, WHAT TEENAGER DOESN’T HAVE A CELLPHONE?? Sorry, tv show, you are breaking my suspension of disbelief here… LOL

          OMG TORAO’S SMOLDER FACE ON POSTERSSSS. It would be SUPER EFFECTIVE. (p.s. Smolder face reminds me of Tangled, which is my 2nd fave Disney movie. Now I can’t stop imagining Takaki as Flynn. O.o )

          AHAHA That is exactly how I thought the writers would play it all out. And that’s usually why I don’t like too much romance in a show, but I’m so glad they went with this direction instead. I was even thinking “hm… I could write a Rei/Torao fic where they work things out in college or something” but now I don’t need too!! YAY! It was really good writing! Fingers crossed that they’ll keep up the good work with Nagisa’s love life too!

          (Oomasa Aya finally looking her age! Yes! She is younger than Takaki, for goodness sake! Did the school just hire Chiharu straight after she graduated??)

          1.) /snorts/ Now I’m just imagining that Kanjani forcefully dyes each other’s hair on occasion when they are bored in their dressing room. /waits for someone to debut blue hair
          5.) He was not thinking. And we weren’t thinking either because everyone was like “we wanna see you do it!” LOL
          Awwwww *pats* That’s still adorable.
          #campshenanigans
          6.) COOORN. CAN’T STOP. WON’T STOP. 😀

          • I only just had the time to look again AND IT’S TOTALLY AN ALLIGATOR HOW DID I MISS IT? I don’t even think I processed that Chiaki was holding, I guess. ALLIGATOR.

            SAME 😀 😀 😀 😀

            HAHAHAHA YES. Maybe that’s why Torao never really seems present – he’s too busy trying to pick up signals on his Ryuji radar. /runs away really fast

            Yeah, hurting it from ANGRY PRACTICE makes the most sense. (I’ll never write that in lowercase again) (Also oooh I hope you find out!)

            I KNOW RIGHT LOL. Thinking back now, I don’t seem to recall them using cell phones AT ALL in this drama. :OOOO

            TAKAKI AS FLYNN. NOW I CAN’T UNSEE EITHER. (And that’s totally okay xD) Takaki’s smoulder is most excellent.

            Yessssss!! I was so prepared to hate the romance side of things from the very first episode, BUT NOPE. AWWW college ToraoxRei. *_______* *re-crosses fingers that were previously reserved for a good ToraoxRei storyline*

            (Must be! LOL.)

            1. HAHAHAHA. Yes, someone go dye their hair blue.
            5. ROFL FAIR ENOUGH I would have been the same.
            /clings to
            6. *dancing corn*

            • LOL I think I only noticed the alligator because I was pausing for screencaps.

              Oh goodness, you are tempting me to write crack fic about Torao and his Ryuji radar! Example: “Why are you standing by the window, Torao?” “I’m trying to get a better radar signal…”
              /runs off into the sunset

              (I will let you know if I find out!)

              Maybe they couldn’t afford the cellphone product placement??

              Wait, so if Takaki is Flynn… who would be Rapunzel? /tries to imagine how everyone would look in a blond wig/

              *crosses fingers with you* *recruits other people to cross fingers too*

              😀 ❤

              • ROFL YES PLEASE. (Have you realised yet in every comment everywhere I’m not at all subtly encouraging you to write all the things #sorryNEVERsorry)
                /chases after you like Riko after Nagisa

                (:D 😀 😀 <3)

                Sadface. Could have saved a whole lotta trouble. (Although I shudder when I think of Naoya texting ANYBODY. ………..Why am I thinking about the texting styles of Suiyan characters. ._.)

                did you come to any conclusions? xD

                • Hahaha I’m making notes so I can try to write these things sometime soon! Although I feel like you would be the only one to appreciate the Ryuji Radar (trademark). Oh well… #sorryNEVERsorryyyyyyy

                  I bet everyone just ignores Naoya’s texts because they are full of indecipherable typos. This is my headcanon now and I’m totally putting it in the story I’m currently writing! TROLOLOL~ (Oh, I’m thinking about texting styles now too. We can be crazy… er, completely normal together!)

                  I decided that no one in Suiyan suited a blond wig… but maybe Yamada from HSJ would work. He looks excellent in drag. >.>

                  • 😀 GOOD
                    That’s okay, I’m the only one that matters? KIDDING xD D

                    I bet everyone just ignores Naoya’s texts because they are full of indecipherable typos.
                    Sounds about right! And Yankee slang nobody understands. LOL YES. Looking forward to it. (sobs *high 5* this drama has completely ruined us #sorryNEVERsorry)

                    Ooh, you’re right – Yamada /does/ look excellent in drag. Let’s go with this.

  2. hello, I read all your suikyu yankees review and I really like it.
    It’s really fun to read and your caption is super hilarious x)))
    nice to meet you. 🙂

    Anyway, the name if baka trio guy who likes nagisa is Tomoki 😀

    and I’d like to answer your question

    1.) Do you think Blond!Yoko misses his blond hair?
    Yes!

    2.) Did the power of love magically heal Torao’s shoulder?
    haha,probably yes!

    3.) Are we all still secretly shipping Torao/Ryuji tho?
    Hmmm…no…

    4.) What would you name your imaginary companion who is, in fact, a water polo ball?
    Nagisa-chan

    5.) Got any fun camp experiences to share with the class? (I’ll tell you my camp experience involves breaking a table, mattress surfing, and stealing some rocking chairs. It was church camp, not gonna lie.)
    sadly no

    6.) Did you miss the corn? Be honest.
    yesss! I think is a perfect companion for summer night 😀

    • Oh my gosh, I am sorry for the late reply!! For some reason, your comment ended up in the spam folder and I just saw it. Sorry, I’m still trying to get used WordPress and its weirdness. D:

      Thank you so much for reading my recaps and leaving a comment!! I’m glad you enjoyed them. Nice to meet you too! ^_^

      Oh, Tomoki is his name! Thank you! It’s hard to keep them all straight sometimes.

      LOL I’m really just joking about Torao/Ryuji, by the way. 🙂

      Nagisa seems to be a popular name! Good choice! (As I said in a comment above, I would pick Larry. LOL)

      Fingers crossed for more corn in the next episode! I agree that it’s perfect for summer nights! 😀

      Thank you again for reading and commenting! (And sorry again for the lateness) If you have the time, please visit again for the last two episodes! 🙂

Leave a Comment

